April Challenge : Let’s get healing with ….YOGA!

Dealing with life and bad skin can feel like a lonely journey, so why not trial and error things to help together?  The added motivation of working with others to achieve your goals can help with keeping your resolution and sharing experiences, so why not join me this month in doing yoga for free from the comforts of your own home? All you need is 30 minutes a day and access to YouTube. 

Why yoga?

You might think how is yoga going to help my skin but in fact having a skin disorder can be extremely stressful, anxiety provoking and lead to sleepless nights, fretting and a never ending cycle of negative thinking. We can get so caught up in the depressive cycle that our wellbeing goes downhill. Sound familiar? I’ve been there and am in it, my mind at times feels so full that I lose sight of what’s really important and let stress and fixations on skin take over. I’m not saying trying to heal skin is a bad thing but sometimes don’t you feel as though it takes over everything else? Do you ever find that each added stress feels too much to bear? If we let the stresses build up, the stress affects our mood, patterns of thinking, immune function and more. 

Having a positive attitude to battle through your skin struggles confidently and with a good frame of mind is therefore my aim with yoga. Yoga can help you to manage life stress, boost circulation, improve fitness and so much more. With skin problems, we have to think beyond topical skincare and so why not start with something which has so many added benefits? Why not deal with eczema with a better frame of mind, a mind where we have the resilience to deal with the flares, self esteem and body issues that come with it? 

Benefits of yoga have long been reported, you can read some of the benefits here and here. Just type benefits of yoga into Google and you’ll see the long list. Do your reading and you’ll no doubt see just how beneficial yoga can be! I previously tried yoga and reviewed it here and I cannot believe I gave it up after rereading it just now but I found I let the stress get the better of me (doesn’t really make sense does it to give up a stress relief aid when you’re stressed but seems to be what many of us do!). I told myself I didn’t have time when in fact it’s not about time but about priorities and so this month Yoga is my priority. 

I’m going to be using the Yoga with Adriene – 30 days of Yoga as it paves the way to a timetabled approach. Check it out here: 30 Days of Yoga . She is so easy going and really non judgemental to your level of ability and so it never feels as though you haven’t done a great session. In addition, her channel offers so many options post 30 days to sink your teeth into after the first month. 

If you would like to join me, I’d love to share the experiences with others! Comment below! 

What does the challenge involve? 

  • 30 days of Yoga – access to YouTube needed
  • 20-30 minutes a day to complete the workouts 
  • Optional – Sharing of your experiences through my weekly Yoga updates – let others read how you have found it to support others on their yoga journeys 

It’s really not too intensive and so the real question is why not? 

When do we start? 

I’m starting tomorrow and keeping with it for 30 days! I am determined to manage my stress so that I can better deal with the anxieties that come with having an exhausting skin disorder. So if you want to take part, it would be great to have you on board! 

Comment below to share your experiences of yoga!

Comments
2 Responses to “April Challenge : Let’s get healing with ….YOGA!”
  1. Laurenpowers says:

    I tried to do this myself a few months ago but didn’t make it past day 15. You have encouraged me to try again. If it can help my eczema, then it is worth it

    Lauren x | http://www.laurenapowers.blogspot.com

    Like

    • Selina says:

      Join me! When I did it before it really helped me to sleep better and just face stress a lot better, really great to deal with skin stress! I stopped too so really want to make it a long lasting habit now!

      Like

Leave a comment

  • Blogs I Follow

  • Blog Stats

    • 468,088 hits
Green lights ahead

If you could go anywhere you wanted, where would you be headed right now?

The Bike Escape

Because Cycling is Life

Healthfully Happy

Finding Happiness in Simplicity

My Poisoned Skin

Blog about my personal experience with severe atopic dermatitis and TSW

Eden Dog

Bringing out the Best in Man's Best Friend!