Winter blues for Eczema

There are many different types of eczema. We all have different triggers and causes of flare ups and for me winter months tend to be worse. Summer seems to be calmer, every winter it gets worse.  I could never understand why either until  earlier this year. I thought i would write this post so that those of you who also recognise winter as a struggle can see if supplements can help you manage your skin too to have a better winter!

Living in the UK, winter is pretty dark and dismal and with that comes back my itchy neck eczema (its always the first place!). In the last year I realised that vitamin d3 was amazing for my skin. I didn’t use it so much over summer but now my neck has begun to get the all too famous “itch “. The change in season is helpful in explaining the change in my skin as the amount of sun exposure is cut short within the winter months.

Since winter means less light, it means less sun exposure and less vitamin D. With my Indian skin tone it also means I generally take in less vitamin D when exposed to the sun compared to a very fair individual and so winter cannot provide the vitamin D dose i need in the UK.

I have begun to supplement again. I’m currently using 2500iu of vitamin d3 and it keeps the itch at bay and halts my usual winter flares  (check my about page for this time last year). You can take lower doses too and you can read more about vitamin d in my previous post on supplementing with vitamin d3. I take such a high amount (not the highest found) as a daily vitamin doesn’t do the trick. I literally cannot state how much vitamin d3 has changed my life and eczema. Holidays in sunny places always calmed my skin and it was only after a follow shared his experiences that the link between my skins behaviour and vitamin D was so clear.

If your eczema gets worse in winter and improves on sunny holidays and in the summer, really consider taking vitamin d3! Even if you trial it for a month it could really change your skin. That’s what it’s done for me and now i always know that i can “top up” whenever that “itch” reappears in the winter.

Have you tried vitamin d?

Is your eczema like mine?

Leave a Reply

  • Blogs I Follow

  • Blog Stats

    • 438,422 hits
Green lights ahead

If you could go anywhere you wanted, where would you be headed right now?

The Bike Escape

Adventures on a road bike

Musas 101

Exploring Minimalism

Messy Mapmaker

Searching Through the Pile of To-Do Lists to See What's Coming Next

Healthfully Happy

Finding Happiness in Simplicity

My Poisoned Skin

Blog about my personal experience with Topical Steroid Withdrawal (TSW)

