Day 2 of the Oil Pulling Challenge : it’s getting easier!

So I completed my oil pulling today complete with 1 full table spoon and for 20 minutes and I have to say it was bearable today!

It’s better to do it whilst you’re doing something else (I caught up on some TV! ) and it really does get easier!

I think the only weird part of the process now is starting off with solid coconut oil and having to break it down in your mouth. … I’m thinking of warming it tomorrow to see if that makes it easier. 

We’ll see!

How was it for you?

Comments
11 Responses to “Day 2 of the Oil Pulling Challenge : it’s getting easier!”
  1. Patricia says:

    Even if this doesn’t help my eczema, I’ve heard it still helps your gums and teeth and general mouth health. I’ve had some gum issues, so anything that it can do to cut down plaque will help. I’ve read comments from pullers saying their gums tighten up as they continue to pull.

    And I nuked my coconut oil this morning before getting my spoonful to avoid gagging.

    Like

  2. It was better! It was a lot easier than the first day. I still don’t like the texture while it’s being broken down into a liquid, but I was almost surprised with how much easier today was. I also like how the coconut oil was moisturizing my lips 🙂 I wonder how long it takes for whiter teeth?

    Like

  3. lynsey scott says:

    I have gone out a walk in the morning while doing this. Its quiet as its so early so no awkward bumping into people when you cant talk. IM finding it less difficult than i expected BUT still gagging slightly when i first put the coconut oil in my mouth. IM sure (i hope) that this will stop happening the more used to it i get.
    lx

    Like

  4. Patricia says:

    I keep busy while I do it. I made myself my morning fruit and veggie smoothie and herbal teas to bring to work and picked out my outfit for today and actually went a bit over the 20 minutes. It was easier today than yesterday. My mouth “understood” the taste more, too.

    Like

    • Selina says:

      I agree! My mouth wasn’t thinking Ugh lol. .. What do you put in your smoothies?

      Like

      • Patricia says:

        I stopped using my beloved strawberries as I read in a couple places they aren’t good for eczema *sob*. Same with ginger. So, now I’m using 12 ounces of purified H2O, vegan non-GMO protein powder, beet powder, fresh pineapple, a couple of stalks of celery, a couple cups of spinach, and either a carrot or an apple. Sounds like a LOT, but it’s really not because of all the liquid in the veggies. A great breakfast and almost fat-free. I’m also in Day 3 of a Detox Cleanse from my health food store–using one of their kits. I cried buckets and buckets yesterday–I think it was part of the detox. (The flat tire on my way home from work didn’t help.) I’m getting to the root cause of my eczema somehow to kill it off.

        Like

      • Selina says:

        Thst sounds positive!

        What is wrong with ginger? (I’m Indian so alot of dishes contain ginger!).

        What juicer/blender do you use? I’ve always wanted to try juicing but never got round to it. The 20min of oil pulling might be a great time to prepare it!

        Like

      • Patricia says:

        Ginger is a “hot” food. My hands are inflammed from my eczema, and even though ginger is supposed to be good for inflammation, curries and ginger only heat up your body. I’m trying to concentrate on cooling it down. I’m giving it a try for about 2 weeks or so and going without, although hot spices go in my soups at work EVERY DAY–at least they used to. I’ve bought other spices since then but my curries are in my kitchen cabinet waiting for more use–when my hot hands cool down.

        I have a Hamilton Beach cheapo blender I bought for under $20 a few years ago and it’s worked like a charm. I’ve seen ones for $200 or more that don’t have the 16 speeds mine has and it really gets the job done–just don’t add everything at once! I add the spinach, blend, and so on. So glad I didn’t buy an expensive blender when I began making my smoothies as my current one is getting it done.

        Like

      • Selina says:

        That’s good to hear. I see ones for £150 and am like what!

        And yeah I don’t eat spicy Indian food. It’s more the lentil based soups etc and chicken but that does have tumeric and ginger. .. Might have to look into it. My boyfriend is always commenting that my body temperature is generally high so maybe I need some cooling!

        Like

Leave a Reply

  • Blogs I Follow

  • Blog Stats

    • 440,022 hits
noguiltypleasures

my eczema healing diary ♥

Visible Spectrum

A journey through life

Green lights ahead

If you could go anywhere you wanted, where would you be headed right now?

The Bike Escape

Because Cycling is Life

Musas 101

Exploring Minimalism

Messy Mapmaker

Searching Through the Pile of To-Do Lists to See What's Coming Next

Healthfully Happy

Finding Happiness in Simplicity

