The 10 day Challenge: April 2014 – Oil Pulling with Extra Virgin Organic Coconut Oil..Are you in?

So after my latest post about a 10 day challenge each month to trial ways to help eczema, I thought I would start with a strange yet fascinating method to cleanse the body. Oil Pulling. 

This challenge will begin on the 1st April. That gives everyone who would like to get involved over a week to prepare. I hope you’ll take part as it would be most beneficial to gain a wider set of reviews!

So what will it involve?

This method involves swishing oil (yes oil!) around your mouth for around 20 minutes every morning. Now please don’t just switch off here. It does sound weird, heck my whole family think it is gross I want to try this, but at the end of the day if standard medical care isn’t helping our eczema, maybe more natural and ancient techniques are worth a go! After all, it is not harmful to the body at all!

Now why might oil pulling be beneficial? It can lead to: (note bold points which for me are related to my eczema)

  • Brighter, whiter teeth and healthier gums
  • Increase energy
  • Decreased headaches
  • Clearer sinuses
  • Alleviated allergies
  • Better sleep
  • Clearer skin
  • Regulated menstrual cycles
  • Improved lymphatic system

(See more at: http://yoganonymous.com/the-benefits-of-oil-pulling-why-i-love-it-how-to-do-it/#sthash.D6nhEIAV.dpuf – this blogger gives his own view on oil pulling which I think is a great place to start when reading up on it)

Now for me, the benefits sound positive, yes they might not happen, but we have to try to know. The whiter teeth in itself sounds good to me so I’m definitely trying this!

http://www.foodmatters.tv/articles-1/oil-pulling-the-habit-that-can-transform-your-health suggests that it can aid in:

• Migraine headache relief
• Correcting hormone imbalances
• Reducing inflammation of arthritis
• May help with gastro-enteritis
• Aids in the reduction of eczema
• May reduce symptoms of bronchitis
• Helps support normal kidney function
• May help reduce sinus congestion
• Some people report improved vision
• Helps reduce insomnia
• Reduced hangover after alcohol consumption
• Aids in reducing pain
• Reduces the symptoms of allergies
• Helps detoxify the body of harmful metals and organisms

So as you can see there are a whole array of reasons for why we should oil pull!

How to:

Oil pulling is best done first thing in the morning on an empty stomach before brushing your teeth.

  • Spoon a tablespoon of organic and cold pressed oil into your mouth and swish it around using your your tongue for around 20 mins. Now, when reading up on websites, it seems that it takes a couple of days to get used to placing oil in your mouth and being comfortable with 20 minutes of swishing it around. It is okay to have to spit it out before that time, but for best results it is most likely best to attempt it again straight afterwards to try and build up to a full 20 minutes. I am choosing for us to use coconut oil as well for this due to the fact that this oil has benefits for eczema when applied topically and orally already, so it makes sense. 
  • Always spit and do not swallow the oil! As you swish it around, it is gathering toxins, hence it is important not to gargle and to spit it out. I think it also best to use a separate toothbrush after this in the morning and use your normal brush in the evenings. Mouthwash too.

Which Oil am I opting for?

After reading such positive reviews on Twitter I am choosing 

  • Lucy Bee Extra Virgin Organic Coconut Oil. 
  • Not only is this oil used for cooking and skincare by people who have tweeted about it but it is available on Amazon for easy access to most of my readers in the UK and the US of A who want to use a specific brand. If you cannot access this oil, then as long as the oil is extra virgin and organic I would render it okay! Just opt for a natural oil. The main thing is taking part!

 

So the final question….Are you in?

It would be great to have people involved. I will blog each day about my experiences so you can share your day to day experiences about it too on the posts. Let’s see if this can lead to any improvements! 

If you’re in, please comment below 🙂

 

Sources:

http://yoganonymous.com/the-benefits-of-oil-pulling-why-i-love-it-how-to-do-it/#sthash.D6nhEIAV.dpuf

 

Comments
22 Responses to “The 10 day Challenge: April 2014 – Oil Pulling with Extra Virgin Organic Coconut Oil..Are you in?”
  1. Joanne says:

    Hi! I’ve been oil pulling for a week now. My teeth are definitely whiter. I didn’t notice much until the third day. As far as my gums, they are definitely healthier! Pink healthy gums! Also, I am 50 ans having problems sleeping. I have noticed that I am sleeping better too! One other thing that has happened about the fifth day, my right ear drained wax I guess. I woke up and my ear started draining. Strange! I am sticking to it!

    Like

    • Selina says:

      Yeah I developed a cold but I’ve heard clearing of sinuses can be a sign of detox! It sounds like your body is doing the same 🙂

      Keep us updated!

      Like

  2. *tara says:

    I just read about someone doing this a couple weeks ago. I’ve wanted to try it ever since but somehow talked myself out of it. This challenge seems like the perfect motivational push I needed. So with that said, count me in!
    From the article, I remember the lady swearing by it. She definitely noticed her teeth whitening. She said she does hers in the morning either by starting the coffee, then going back to bed, setting her alarm for 20 mins or while showering. She said the first few days were weird, but once you pass that you don’t realize what you’re doing anymore. She also suggested putting what you’ll use in the microwave, melting it for a better consistency.
    Good luck and happy pulling!

    Like

    • Selina says:

      That’s great you’ll be joining in! I’ve read lots about it too and it’s definitely worth a try! It will definitely be strange but having others do it is a motivation for definite!

      Like

  3. Bought my oil! 🙂 Going to just taste it tonight and then wait for the challenge to start!

    Like

  4. Patricia says:

    I’d planned on using organic virgin coconut oil for this pulling, anyway, just not this brand as I have one I’m happy with.
    I’ve read some comments in blogs about people whose eczema and other problems have cleared up since they began oil pulling.

    Like

    • Selina says:

      I’m glad you’re oil pulling too! I agree that any organic Virgin oil will be fine.

      I hope that it will have benefits eveb if not directly related to my skin! Will you be joining us from April 1st? 🙂

      Like

  5. I DO OIL PULLING WHEN I NEED IT WITH MY MCS—- BUT RIGHT NOW MY HEALTH ISN’T WHERE I CAN DO OIL PULLING RIGHT NOW— BEST WISHES—- IT WORKS FOR ME!!!!!!!!

    Like

    • Selina says:

      Hope your health improves! And so glad to hear you had a positive oil pulling experience. Would you say there is an immediate benefit and do you have any tips for us newbies 🙂 Thank you x

      Like

      • I HAVE BEEN OIL PULLING FOR SEVERAL YEARS NOW– & IT DEPENDS ON MY HEALTH– IF I SEE POSITIVE RESULTS RIGHT AWAY OR IF IT IS AN OVER TIME PROCESS– — WHEN I HAVE HAD A LOT OF STRESS–& NOT TOTALLY EATEN PROPERLY & HAD A LOT OF COMPANY LATELY– I KNOW NOT TO PUT ANY MORE STRESS ON MY BODY– FOR DETOX– UNTIL I KNOW HOW STRONG MY BODY IS!!! AND CAN READ IT!!!! BUT I HAVE NOT USED TOOTHPASTE FOR MANY MANY MANY YEARS– & OIL PULL EVERY WEEK SOME EXTENT– JUST TO CLEAN MY TEETH & MOUTH!! I HOPE THAT HELPS—

        Like

  6. Reblogged this on sondasmcschatter and commented:
    I DO OIL PULLING WHEN I NEED IT WITH MY MCS—- BUT RIGHT NOW MY HEALTH ISN’T WHERE I CAN DO OIL PULLING RIGHT NOW— BEST WISHES—- IT WORKS FOR ME!!!!!!!!

    Like

  7. Reblogged this on The Allergista and commented:
    I’m going to do this 10 day (starting April 1st) Oil Pulling Challenge… want to join us?
    Go out to the store and get your oil now!

    Like

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] a quick update on my first couple of days of oil pulling! I did it this morning as Selina from My Eczema Skincare Blog advised. I shoved the spoonful of coconut oil in my mouth before hopping in the shower and spit it […]

    Like



Leave a Reply

  • Blogs I Follow

  • Blog Stats

    • 436,908 hits
My Poisoned Skin

Blog about my personal experience with Topical Steroid Withdrawal (TSW)

laurakatebeauty

beauty is not flawless, it shines through your flaws

Eden Dog

Bringing out the Best in Man's Best Friend!

Clumsy Runner Blog

Sunshine, Smiles & Happy Miles

Siim Land

Empowered

Joanna Darrell

Because Beauty Knows no Gender

Pyra Danny Experiences

Sometimes you seek experiences. Other times they seek you.

Her Quarters

Perth - Beauty and Lifestyle Blogger

