Pai Camellia and Rose Gentle Hydrating Cleanser: a Review

I purchased the 50ml Travel Size to sample. It came alone, priced at £14.00 and I have now finished it (just under 3 weeks of using twice a day). This is a full review after 3 weeks.

2014-01-03 13.48.19-12014-01-03 13.48.41

Website: http://www.paiskincare.com/camellia-rose-gentle-hydrating-cleanser-100ml-5

Cost (UK): Travel size (50ml) – £14.00, 100ml – £25.00, 200ml – £35.00. You get a free muslin cloth with the 100 and 200ml versions and I must say the Pai muslin cloth is one of my favourites (I actually purchased a set of 3 seperately!) so it is great to have one come with the cleanser. For a cost comparison, the Trilogy Cream cleanser is £22.50 for 200ml and so Pai is definitely on the expensive side for a cream cleanser. It is in the range of more balm based cleansers like the Organic Pharmacy Carrot Butter Cleanser (£34.95) and more expensive than some (Suti Cleanse is £28) which I guess is surprising to me as the balm ones are my ‘luxury’ product.

Click below to see the 200ml version for sale on Amazon with free delivery and a free muslin cloth:

Camellia & Rose Gentle Hydrating Cleanser for Sensitive Skin (Organic) 200ml

Ingredients: Pai website*

aqua, camellia sinensis seed oil*, ricinus communis (castor) seed oil*, prunus amygdalus dulcis (sweet almond) oil*, cetearyl alcohol, vegetable glycerine*, butyrospermum parkii (shea) butter* , cetearyl glucoside, rosa damascena (rose otto) oil*, pelargonium graveolens (geranium) oil*, lavandula officinalis (lavender) flower oil*, litsea cubeba fruit oil* – may chang oil, mixed tocopherols (natural vitamin e), sodium lauroyl lactylate, sodium anisate, sodium levulinate, lactic acid, glyceryl stearate citrate

*Certified Organic. Soil Association Certified. Suitable for Vegans
This product is free from irritating chemicals and ingredients including: alcohol (ethyl alcohols & alcohol denat), artificial fragrances, detergents (detergents including Sodium Lauryl Sulfate, Cocamidopropyl Betaine and Decyl Glucoside), formaldehyde (including sodium hydroxymethylglycinate), parabens (including japanese honeysuckle), phenoxyethanol and propylene glycol.

Packaging: The Pai design is so simple and classy, I really like it. The actual cleanser comes in a pump style and I thought this would be a plus but I actually found that this was one of the main nuisances of this cleanser. When trying to pump out product, I’d get sporadic amounts of cleanser at a time rather than a standard amount each time. Sometimes a little blob nowhere near enough to even cleanse a single cheek, at other times too much…I think if this was improved this product really would be so much more practical.

Application: I use around 2 or 3 pumps of this (since no standard amount comes out its give or take!) and this is what the website suggests. This is definitely enough for my face and neck, even though my skin is more dry. Obviously if your skin is feeling more dry you can adjust accordingly. I apply it to my dry face and cleanse in circular motions. It is a cream cleanser and it dissolves into the skin quite quickly really so isn’t the best for massage (a balm or oil based one would be necessary for easier movement) but cleans the face well (I use this in the morning and as a second cleanse so haven’t tested it on make up removal). It is extremely gentle, I feel no irritation and it feels quite nice on application. I feel any tightness reduce and redness really does appear to calm.

I remove this using the hot muslin cloth method and this leaves my skin moisturised even after removal which I didn’t expect from a cream based cleanser so this is definitely a plus! It also really helped keep redness at bay which is amazing as usually any water contact brings redness up, but my yellow tan shows through, redness is minimal and face feels clean, refreshed but not dry.

Smell: It has a distinct smell but for me its a nice smell, I really like it. You can smell the natural ingredients and its a nice pick me up in the morning. I think most natural and organic products will carry natural scents but for me this smell was a plus.

My Thoughts:

I actually finished this last week and miss it already! I used it every morning and second as part of a double cleanse in the evening after a balm based cleanser. I really have enjoyed this cleanser. The price and the pump aspect are the only real negatives I can give it….But even though I think £35 is a lot for 200ml I really think I’m going to put a second order in! I will try the Trilogy Cream cleanser and Antipode Grace for comparison though and let you know my thoughts on those. And I hope that Pai will consider the pump style….maybe my second bottle will be different though and more standard.

It was a great morning cleanser, didn’t aggravate my skin and my skin actually felt calm, moisturised lightly and not red after removing this product. The muslin cloth is quite a rough one but I actually liked this and it didn’t aggravate my skin when removing this cleanser. I think my skin has felt its removal from my skincare routine in terms of redness. I didn’t itch too much after using this either which is great as my most itchy period is after washing and cleansing my skin.

Overall, I realy recommend this cleanser! It is on the high end of my budget but the 50ml travel size did last me nearly 3 weeks using it twice a day so the 200ml will last roughly 3 months in which case it seems okay. I think the sporadic pump action is the only nuisance here as you end up getting more product than you want at times. I think to save cost, I’d recommend using it for your morning cleanse so your skin is calm for facing the outside world. I think I’m going to try this to make this cleanser last longer.

Here is a breakdown of the Pros and Cons:

Pros:
– Minimised skin aggravation to water which is common for my skin, minimal redness after fully cleansed
– Left skin (lightly) moisturised
– Comforting on contact and removal
– Free muslin cloth with 100ml and 200ml versions
– Travel size handy for holidays and sampling!

Cons:
– Expensive
– Pump action doesn’t release a standard amount of cleanser
– Not good for facial massage as absorbs rapidly

Hope this review has helped you! Have you tried Pai? What did you think?

Comments
One Response to “Pai Camellia and Rose Gentle Hydrating Cleanser: a Review”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Rose and Camellia Cleanser – this is still my favourite cleanser and you can read my review here to see the pros and cons. For me the pros still outweigh the cons though it does hurt me everytime I […]

    Like



Leave a Reply

  • Blogs I Follow

  • Blog Stats

    • 438,422 hits
Green lights ahead

If you could go anywhere you wanted, where would you be headed right now?

The Bike Escape

Adventures on a road bike

Musas 101

Exploring Minimalism

Messy Mapmaker

Searching Through the Pile of To-Do Lists to See What's Coming Next

Healthfully Happy

Finding Happiness in Simplicity

My Poisoned Skin

Blog about my personal experience with Topical Steroid Withdrawal (TSW)

