Share your Skin story

A skin disorder can affect our daily lives greatly from limiting our participation in leisure activities to making us feel negative about ourselves and restricting the clothes we wear.

The impact can be huge yet people are not always aware that a skin condition can be more than just physical changes to the skin. People are not always aware of how emotionally devastating it can be.  My doctor being one of these people.

So keeping that in mind, I would like to create a page on my blog dedicated to personal stories (anonymous if you’d like) – a day in the life of you. A place where you write your skin story in your own way, in your own words to share with the world what it is like for you.

There are no rules. Just a chance for you to share your story with others. I’d love to be able to raise awareness of the impact of skin disorders be it eczema,  vitiligo, psoriasis,  acne,  lupus or one of many others. Awareness brings acknowledgment and acknowledgement can bring understanding, support and change. And I’m sure we all want that.

But I need your help. My story is one of many and I want to share yours too. You can read my story on my “A day in the life..” post (click here to view) and on my About page (click to open). I know life can be busy but if you could spare 15 minutes to do this it would be great.

Please get in touch with me via email, Facebook,  Twitter or a comment below if you’d be willing to share your story and have any questions.

I can’t do it alone šŸ™‚

Comments
3 Responses to “Share your Skin story”
  1. Hi! I know we had been talking and I just want to share my story šŸ™‚ I have had eczema ever since growing up and it had been very difficult. I had it everywhere on my body from head to toe and could not even wear t-shirts in the summer. I was constantly going to doctors to find a cure; I tried medicine, steroids (both topically and internally), and even cortisone creams, to no avail. Every morning when I woke up, I would wake up with fresh blood on my nails from scratching, and lots of dead skin on the floor. It was so hard. I found it to be the most difficult times of my life, especially since doctors said it would never cure.

    It was until nothing worked that I decided to try alternative therapies. I tried acupuncture but that didn’t help; I had lost hope. My friend told me about changing my diet but I didn’t believe it. After seeing a naturopath and nutritionist, I decided that maybe it would make a difference, after all I had nothing to lose. I had tried almost everything already. I ended up doing the elimination diet and also going vegetarian for 2 months. My body had endured a lot of stress, but during that elimination time, I had removed a lot of potential allergens bugging my system. To my surprise, in that time, my body somehow miraculously healed so quickly within 2 months! Every single day when I woke up, even if I had just slept for 4 hours that night, I would wake up and notice a dramatic difference in my skin being healed! It was a miracle.

    Changing my food really changed my entire life, and my entire skin. 2 months of diet change did MORE than an entire decade of being on medication. I have since gone onto study nutrition and have become a holistic nutritionist to help others. šŸ™‚ I hope to continue spreading the word about eczema and natural remedies to help cure it.

    Cheers,
    Abby
    http://www.primephysiquenutrition.com

    Read more of my story here: http://www.primephysiquenutrition.com/how-i-overcame-severe-eczema-when-doctors-said-there-was-no-cure/

    Like

  2. Claire says:

    What a fantastic idea. I will put together mine when I have a few spare moments.

    Like

    • Thanks Claire. That would be so great! Just want people to really know what having a skin disorder is like, not the medical definition but the real impact on the person šŸ™‚ look forward to hearing your story. ..Just let me know how you’d like to sign it for example name age maybe profression up to you šŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

  • Blogs I Follow

  • Blog Stats

    • 440,022 hits
noguiltypleasures

my eczema healing diary ā™„

Visible Spectrum

A journey through life

Green lights ahead

If you could go anywhere you wanted, where would you be headed right now?

The Bike Escape

Because Cycling is Life

Musas 101

Exploring Minimalism

Messy Mapmaker

Searching Through the Pile of To-Do Lists to See What's Coming Next

Healthfully Happy

Finding Happiness in Simplicity

