My Eczema updates: My face and neck eczema after cleansing and moisturising at night

So the images aren’t the best. Blame trying to use a smartphone!  But after cleansing and moisturising my skin tends to look very sore, raised and I feel like a giant tomato!  It calms down slightly after around 5 mins
Does anyone else get this? I thought I would share my current eczema status with you so that when I review products you can see the real difference. It is pretty flaky and I have blotches of red no matter what I put on at the moment. My neck is dying to be itched too…. Ugh!

Today I used balance me Cleanse and Smooth balm followed by antipodes Avocado Pear night cream and herbfarmacy skin rescue balm on my eczema. (Still waiting for toners to arrive to trial oils, serums and the toner).

Now my confession is that I went on a course of steroid use at the end of last year as my eczema was playing up and I had an important assignment due.  Now with eczema I’m sure you can understand that though people may see it as a minor skin complaint,  in reality it is so exhausting,  uncomfortable,  itchy and mentally draining. I really couldn’t afford this so forth I went to the doctor and what a surprise he prescribed steroids (typical ay). Now it was nice to calm my skin down,  sleep peacefully and get my work done. It was a true relief but my skin now is paying for that steroid use more. … slowly the eczema is creeping back and I can’t use steroids again because let’s face it, it’ll just keep coming back angry. My neck is becoming more rough and itchy as the days go by but I’m hoping good eating,  good supplements,  skincare and meditation will help calm it naturally this time. I luckily don’t start uni for a couple of weeks so have some days off to try and cope with the flare (fingers crossed it doesn’t get too angry! !). Wish me luck!

image

image

Comments
16 Responses to “My Eczema updates: My face and neck eczema after cleansing and moisturising at night”
  1. seyi says:

    am on many blogs i rather read than comment…but manfred needs to calm the hell down…u dont come up here and accuse someone if being a scam..Do you know hiw hard it is living with eczema… too pissed at thw situation for any further coments. stupid world

    Like

    • Thanks for the Support. I too was annoyed since I am writing this blog to help us all. .. so being told I’ma conartist is annoying since well I’m not selling anything! But I think it was a misunderstanding. He had offered the benefits of Vit d many times but I am reluctant to post anything I do not test myself.

      Like

  2. 20112010mo says:

    i totally understand what you go through. i have suffered with eczema my whole life and three years ago up until 3-4 months ago it was so severe i wouldnt leave my house for weeks at a time. i am now in control of my problem and have created a website with all kinds of information on preventing a flare-up and products that are good/bad. you may find it useful at http://www.eczemastruggle.co.uk we ca beat this one day at a time

    Like

  3. Manfred says:

    Why is my comment awaiting moderation? It seems to me you are a scam artist and do not seek to be cured. I will tell everyone i know to avoid this website and this post. How heartless of you to reject my advice.

    Like

    • I’m currently trialing d3 hence i am heeding your advice but your comments have upset some of my readers hence I have stopped allowing the same comments on every post. I get what you are saying and am interested hence I’ve started on d3.

      Like

      • Manfred says:

        Why do my comments upset your readers? Don’t they want a cure? It worked for me and countless others.

        Like

      • If you think I am a con artist then please feel free to stop reading my blog. This is a positive place for eczema sufferers. I do not need your cruel words!

        I am taking 10000iu of d3 daily but will not post this “cure” without my personable experience. This is my REAL life experiences

        Like

      • Manfred says:

        It seems God works in mysterious ways. However you always ignore my posts and finding out that my latest one is awaiting moderation is ridiculous. My intention was always to help, as i know what it is like to have eczema. I would not be wasting my time here were it not for the pain i know my fellow eczema sufferer’s go through. My point is it doesn’t have to be this way. Vitamin D3 is underestimated. Visit this website talking about how important it is to our body. http://www.vitamindcouncil.org/ I’m glad to hear you are taking the vitamins, it seems my efforts are not fruitless. May God heal all of you. Peace.

        Like

      • I’m sure I have applied to you previously? But I admit I haven’t replied to the repeats as nothing more to add? Instead its pushed me to try d3. So yes I have listened. As I do to all my readers.

        I would prefer if you talked in a polite manner though and not in harsh words when I am here suffering and trying to be a positive support for others. Now i didn’t realise that was a bad thing.

        I do not post though about “cures”. I trial things then post. If I don’t try hope can I advise others?

        Like

      • Thank you for your links

        Like

  4. Jodie from Michigan says:

    Yes! Very red, raised and itchy. I have reverted to triamcinolone on my back because it was so BAD! I never had eczema on my back before. My mother always called eczema ” the creeping crud”.

    I had taken a pic of my back, but I thought it was a little too personal for your blog. I also was showing pics of the devastating ice storm here in MI that knocked my power out and a couple tree limbs down too. I had to erase it from my phone before it fell in the wrong hands ( the under 12 set).

    Back to the discussion at hand. I take my top off and it’s like reptile skin shedding now during the “dry phase”. I find I have phases of eczema. The horrible flare up as your pictures demonstrate; leading to the itchy cycle and then the extreme dry and healing phase. This all happens over 5-6 days, as long as I stop eating the offensive agent. Which in this case, was the chocolate liqueur I used to make brandy Alexander’s on x-mas Eve! I try out my allergies from time to time to see if they may have gone away! Silly idea.

    Like

    • Aww bless. You can share photos via my email if you want 🙂 I put mine up as I hope it helps to show readers where im coming from myself. .. (Not keen on those sites which advise but don’t appear to be suffering from Eczema themselves! ). Always happy for you to share back.

      When my skin starts to flare I minimise my refined sugar, dairy, gluten and basically the junk! I up the greens in my salad and some fruit and continue with my supplements. Trying to not itch takes alot of willpower and I do fail sometimes. .. But the urge is just so strong! Try and keep calm though as stress and agitation makes me itch more!

      Back must be hard to look after? Tricky area to cleanse and moisture! I used to get lumps on my upper back but they went. Mine tend to be neck and face mainly (sigh**)

      Like

  5. I wish you luck! I’m in the same situation. Back to work next week and self employed so can’t afford any serious flare-up. I am about to try working from the liver and Lymphatic system cleanse angle which I didn’t do last time I had a major flare-up.Steroid creams can really clogg these up. So far I have been batheing in Apple cider vinegar =x1 tea cup in a full warm, but not too hot bath, every other day. I’ve been doing this and taking it aurally ( 1 tablespoon twice daily) for about 6 weeks now. I find it really soothes the redness and the itching and has particularly helped my scalp which is not too bad at all right now. During this time I have been weaning myself off the steroid cream by mixing a much smaller ammount of it into organic shea butter. Like you I know the inflammation has to come and work it’self through, and I’m hoping not so violently..
    The next step is to try coffee enema’s..have you come across this in your research? I will let you know in a few weeks how this goes. I am happy to say I am under the care of a brilliant homeopath too which I recommend being. I”ve learned so much about my triggers. All the best for 2014 and good luck with your trials.

    Like

    • Please keep me filled in with the Apple cider vinegar! I have heard of that before for eczema. Steroids can definitely clog up our systems. Just a nuisance that they are so effective and so tempting! I’m at university and working so luckily I have at least 2 days at home a week. Flare up and seeing people isn’t my idea of fun but let’s hope our flares keep at bay 🙂

      What is coffee enemas? Must look it up!

      Like

  6. Manfred says:

    Sister! Heed my advice! There are 2 things you can do right now to CURE your eczema! I was in the same position as you and went to 12 dermatologists who gave me nothing but Cortisone. Do not shy away from my advice, it will cleanse and cure you! Seek the Vitamin D3 tablets (liquid form) in large doses, and start by taking 10,000 IU DAILY. This will destroy your eczema and harness your internal energy to wipe it out. If you don’t believe me then go and get a Vitamin D deficiency test. The other thing which will also help tremendously is to use virgin coconut oil in a process called “oil pulling”. You take a tablespoon, and swish it in your mouth for 20 minutes every day, and then spit it out and rinse with water. The results have often cured the body not just of eczema, but also of psoriasis. (In a 3 week time frame) Do not disregard my advice! Do you not wish to be cured? Or do you wish this eczema to remain? You can contact me for further details on this matter and i will gladly help you out. I was an eczema sufferer for 2 years as well,, and it covered my entire body. What are you waiting for? Go and get CURED!
    my email is: raptoryamaan@hotmail.com

    Like

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] have posted photos of my eczema over the last few days here, here and here. My neck is my main problem area with the face being second. It used to be vice versa but […]

    Like



Leave a Reply

  • Blogs I Follow

  • Blog Stats

    • 438,422 hits
Green lights ahead

If you could go anywhere you wanted, where would you be headed right now?

The Bike Escape

Adventures on a road bike

Musas 101

Exploring Minimalism

Messy Mapmaker

Searching Through the Pile of To-Do Lists to See What's Coming Next

Healthfully Happy

Finding Happiness in Simplicity

My Poisoned Skin

Blog about my personal experience with Topical Steroid Withdrawal (TSW)

