Wheatgrass….good for eczema?

So this is one of the first things I have thought about incorporating in my new eczema regime! I have talked about some of this before but talking isn’t going to get rid of my eczema is it!

I have done quite a bit of research and talking about working from the inside out…and this definitely seems like a good, baby step to that lifestyle change my eczema craves!

So what is the fuss about Wheatgrass?

I came across some information about wheatgrass before but buying wheatgrass seemed expensive and as a student back then it wasn’t a necessity. However, it really did intrigue me when I read up about it. Yes it’s grass and I haven’t tried it yet but I can assume that it might not taste the most appealing….but one glass a day can’t be that bad can it? Not if the benefits are positive?

I’ve just ordered a bag of wheatgrass powder (http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B006E0ACAI/ref=oh_details_o01_s00_i00) to try this week from Amazon. I bought organic and the reviews on this product seemed quite pleasing and for 14.99 it is definitely worth a try! You can buy wheatgrass in many different forms, but personally I think that powder form is an easier method when you have a job and just don’t feel that you have the time to be making fresh juice from actual wheatgrass (I definitely don’t think that would be a long term solution for me!). So powder seemed reasonable and doable for me and something that is relatively easy. It just requires you to mix a spoon with warm water and drink a glass…can’t really find an excuse not to do this daily can I? So that definitely ticks my box of a must try! I will receive it some time this week and will keep you updated!

You can buy it in frozen form, fresh form and even capsules. But I thought that I would start with powder as the reviews seemed good and storage is simpler than frozen!

Until then….here’s some facts about wheatgrass…eczema related ones of course….

  • Wheatgrass is known to alkalise the blood due to the fact that it contains chlorophyll. This is also supposed to energise the body (amazon reviews emphasised that to me). I admit that I do feel tired and drained a lot and think that feeling energised would be an added bonus. Alkalinity is known to be good for eczema as acid can aggravate so that can only be good right….?
  • Wheatgrass cleanses the body (see how well this fits in with my want to detox from inside out?!). It may not be proven, but I have always thought our skin is telling us that our body needs a detox, that our bodies are trying to rid of something. So a cleanse must be good right? It is known to cleanse the blood, organs and gastrointestinal tract. I’m staying optimistic!
  • It is anti-bacterial . With eczema, we are prone to infections when the skin opens/cracks and need to rid of the toxins. Wheatgrass can help to support our lymphatic systems too. I’m not sure about you guys, but my lymph nodes around my jaw/neck tend to swell when my skin is about to flare. This could be a coincidence but detoxifying this may help to reduce the toxins release through our eczema. Just my thoughts (no evidence) but could be a possibility.
  • Boosts the immune system. This helps to fight against illness and eczema is an illness of the skin is it not? It contains many vitamins and minerals in addition.

This is not an exhaustive list of benefits by no means! There are so many! But reading reviews, energy has seemed to be a constant benefit and this alone to me sounds interesting. There are many sites saying wheatgrass helps eczema greatly, but I’d rather give my true say after I’ve tried it myself as we all know that many sites just use our desperation to make money….

There are side effects at times of course, like irregular bowel movements, nausea, headaches when you first start taking it but everything has side effects doesn’t it?

Here are some useful links to aid your research! Hope you’ve found this as intriguing as I have and would love to hear your thoughts. For me, I can’t wait to try it. It seems like a possible way to help cleanse the body….it’s a start at least!

http://www.energiseforlife.com/wordpress/2009/05/22/wheatgrass-health-benefits/

http://www.hippocratesinst.org/natural-health-resources/benefits-of-wheatgrass

http://www.girmeswheatgrass.com/wheatgrass-benefits.html

Leave a Reply

  • Blogs I Follow

  • Blog Stats

    • 438,051 hits
Green lights ahead

If you could go anywhere you wanted, where would you be headed right now?

The Bike Escape

Adventures on a road bike

Musas 101

Exploring Minimalism

Messy Mapmaker

Searching Through the Pile of To-Do Lists to See What's Coming Next

Healthfully Happy

Finding Happiness in Simplicity

My Poisoned Skin

Blog about my personal experience with Topical Steroid Withdrawal (TSW)

