A home made soothing, relieving face mask that can be used during a flare-up!

I don’t know why I tried this face mask, it was a mixture of my grandma telling me yoghurt was good for my skin and reading about the benefits of oats for eczema prone skin. I searched on the internet and found that many people had found this beneficial and not just eczema sufferers. Here are some of the benefits of each.

Yoghurt

When applied externally helps the skin in several ways

  • Is a way to clear skin natural
  • Is an effective remedy for sunburn
  • Helps with blemishes
  • Whitens the skin
  • Exfoliate the skin due to the lactic acid that it contains
  • Moisturize the skin

Oats can help to relieve dryness, restoring natural moisture balance to aid in healing minor irritations due to the many causes and sources of skin sensitivities. (Article Source: http://EzineArticles.com/404128)

Face Mask

So I use normal organic yoghurt (non-fat) and mix it with some finely ground rolled oats (I don’t use organic but organic may be better because there are no pesticides etc). I don’t put set quantities in, I just make it so that the it becomes like a really light exfoliator. Sometimes, depending on how sore your skin is the yoghurt may sting, therefore, when you first trythis place a small amount on some of your eczema to see if it stings.

If it does, it may not be a good idea to use the mask as it may do more harm than good! In general though, wash your face and then apply the mask all over your face and neck, be careful to avoid getting it into your eyes. It is quite messy so I prefer to apply this whilst I sit in the bath with some bath formula in to benefit my body! I just leave it for awhile (could be between 5-20 minutes) to allow the ingredients to get to work on my skin. The yoghurt will start to dry as well. After the time’s up, I wet my hands and then slowly and very gently just massage the mixture around my face in small circles working outwards and upwards to exfoliate. The oats aren’t harsh on the skin so it doesn’t hurt like most exfoliators you may buy. If it does, then please don’t do this! After doing this all over your face and neck, rinse the mixture off with some warm water, pat your skin dry and apply moisturiser.

I find that this helps to relieve me of any flaky, dry skin and makes my face feel a bit of relief. I sometimes do this before I go to sleep. But I would recommend it. It’s quite cheap as both of the ingredients are simple and buying a bag of oats lasts you a long time! I don’t do this face mask very often, only when my face is feeling very aggravated, however, even once a week I think would benefit!

In addition, adding a spoon of honey or olive oil can be good. If you search these up on the internet you will find that these are good for moisturising/ healing!

Hope this helps =]

Comments
3 Responses to “A home made soothing, relieving face mask that can be used during a flare-up!”
  1. Marianne G. says:

    I have eczema on my face and occasionally on my neck. I’ve heard so much about yogurt and oats doing wonders for your skin and I’ve tried them both on my face but i kept breaking out. they did soften up and smoothed my skin but i didn’t want to have pimples all over my face. 😦
    on another note, i love your blog! i’m currently reading a lot of your past posts (i only found your blog yesterday) looking for products to try because i’m trying to stay away from the steroid creams my doctor gave me because I’ve become to dependent on them and I know that’s not good!

    Like

  2. JL says:

    Try Beau Lee’s Bedew moisturizing oil. It is an all natural oil loaded with fruit extracts and vitamin C. It has a great orangey smell and it cures dry skin patches better than prescription creams. The pump bottle is great and it last for hundreds of uses. My four year old has dry skin patches behind his ears. We were putting rx steroid cream on it and I could tell he was wired after each application – steroids rev you up. Now that we found this oil we put it behind his ears once a week or so and it keeps his skin smooth and healthy. And he loves that he smells like mommy. I put the oil all over my body after a shower. I even use it as my daily facial moisturizer. I have been using it for a few months and now I am getting compliments on my glowing skin. A few people even asked me if I was pregnant because I have a glow! Great stuff!! Here is the link
    http://beaulees.com/Home_Page.html

    Like

Leave a Reply

  • Blogs I Follow

  • Blog Stats

    • 439,931 hits
noguiltypleasures

my eczema healing diary ♥

Visible Spectrum

A journey through life

Green lights ahead

If you could go anywhere you wanted, where would you be headed right now?

The Bike Escape

Because Cycling is Life

Musas 101

Exploring Minimalism

Messy Mapmaker

Searching Through the Pile of To-Do Lists to See What's Coming Next

Healthfully Happy

Finding Happiness in Simplicity

